About The Books

Deadlands (book one)

Deadlands by Lily Herne

Ten years after Cape Town was destroyed in the War with the living dead, zombies ramble free in Cape Town’s suburbs (known as the Deadlands), and the remaining living are corralled in fenced agricultural and city shantytowns.

The living are watched over by the mysteriously robed Guardians, a race of humanoid figures who appeared at the end of the War and who keep the living dead at bay, albeit for a steep price. Every year the Guardians stage a human Lottery, picking five teenagers to be whisked out of the enclave for a secret purpose.

No one (yet) knows why it is that the Guardians prize teenage bodies so highly, how they control the zombies or what they look like under the robes that cover their bodies.



Death of a Saint (book two)


Some secrets are so unthinkable you can’t even admit them to yourself . . .

Lele, Ginger, Ash and Saint – aka the Mall Rats – are hiding out in the Deadlands, a once-prosperous area of Cape Town, now swarming with the living dead. Exiled from the city enclave for crimes against the Resurrectionist State, the Rats face a stark choice: return and risk capture – or leave Cape Town and go in search of other survivors.

But what if the rest of South Africa is nothing but a zombie-riddled wasteland? Now Lele has discovered the truth about why the lurching dead leave them alone, she can’t bring herself to tell the rest of the gang. And she’s not the only Mall Rat harbouring a dangerous secret . . . Can the friends’ survive on the road if all they have is each other? Or will their secrets tear them apart?



Army of The Left (book three)


One of us is dead.
One of us is broken.
One of us will betray the others.
And one of us will have to sell her soul to survive . . .

It’s been eleven years since South Africa was ravaged by the walking dead. Johannesburg’s impoverished survivors are ruled over by a minority of rich self-serving bureaucrats. As the remaining Mall Rats confront the dark heart of the twisted political system – in another part of town, Tommy dreams of joining the Army of the Left, a radical organisation intent on fighting for freedom.

While Ash is forced to face his traumatic past, and Ginger struggles to regain his sanity; Lele goes head to head against a powerful foe, and Saint is dead set on a mission of her own: a fight for survival. Welcome back to the Deadlands . . .



Ash Remains (book four)
Released 7 April 2016


Struggling to cope with their physical and mental scars, the remaining Mall Rats limp back home to Cape Town. They think they have the answer to all the enclave’s problems. They think they’re going to get a hero’s welcome. But things have changed since they’ve been gone. And not for the better. . .

Meanwhile, the Army of the Left is preparing to wipe out the dead once and for all. Its leaders think they’ve come up with a faultless plan. They think they have a secret weapon that will set the city free once and for all.

They’re wrong.



Deadlands is the first ever zombie novel set in Cape Town. It’s the creepy tale of the living dead and how they took over the suburbs, in an area now designated as the “Deadlands”. A few people still remain, living on farmlands on the outskirts of the city where they are protected by the mysterious Guardians.

Click here to read an extract